top of page

Grand Old Picnic

Food, fun and politics was on the agenda for the first Grand Old Picnic sponsored by the

Republican Party of Garland County on Saturday.

Federal, state and local officials, including U.S. Rep Bruce Westerman met with the crowd of

about 70 people at the event at the RPGC headquarters at 615 West Grand Ave., in Hot Springs.

The picnic was designed to celebrate the candidates who were successful in the Republican


“It was a hot day for Republican politics in Garland County,” said RPGC Chair Marcia Albaugh.

“I was delighted with the turnout from local leaders and from our Republican community.”

She noted that the picnic was possible only with the help of a small army of volunteers who were

coordinated by Linda Beber, who managed the event. Albaugh said she plans to hold the picnic


County Judge Darryl Mahoney welcome about 20 politicians and local leaders who all spoke to

the crowd, including Hot Springs Mayor Pat McCabe and Police Chief Chris Chapmond,

Garland County Under Sheriff Jason Lawrence, Prosecuting Attorney Michelle Lawrence and

Chief Deputy Kara Petro, County Collector Rebecca Dodd Talbert, State Sen. Alan Clark, State

Rep. Richard McGrew, State Rep. Les Warren, State Land Commissioner Tommy Land, State

Senate Republican nominee and Justice of the Peace Matt McKee, and Debbie Cozart, spoke for

her husband State Rep. Bruce Cozart.

Other speakers included: Chris Carnahan, a candidate for Arkansas Supreme Court, Justice of the

Peace Larry Raney, Dayton Myers, who is unopposed as Justice of the Peace, District 7, Micah

Braughton, Republican candidate for Justice of Peace, District 1, Debbie McGrew, who is

running unopposed as Justice of the Peace for District 10, Jim Kerr, who is running unopposed in

the General Election as Constable – Hot Springs Township, Garland County Election

Commissioner Gene Haley and Dudley Webb III, a candidate for Hot Springs City Board of

Directors. Representatives for Sarah Sanders, the Republican candidate for state governor, and

U.S. Senator John Boozman also spoke.

On Thursday, the RPGC County Committee held its Biennial County Convention at the Garland

County Library where it certified Republicans candidates in the May primary and the June 23

Runoff. Also during the meeting Kathy Edds was elected State Committeewoman and Patrick

Ingram was reelected State Committeeman. Stacey Kandlbinder was reelected 4 th District

Committeewoman and Vernon Gingrich was reelected 4 th District Committeeman.

The County Committee also selected delegates and alternates to the Republican Party of

Arkansas state meeting in July.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page